The COSON Song Award was held last Saturday at the New Ballroom of Oriental Hotel, on the Lekki-Epe Expressway. Unlike other awards, the winners were picked among old and well respected musicians and were honoured in no particular order. Some of the winning songs were Oruka by Sunny Neji, Afrika Queen by TuFace Idibia and Send Down the Rain by Majek Fashek. These musicians including Iyanya took to the floor to thrill the audience during the show.



Song of the 60s:

Victor Olaiya – Baby Jowo

Bobby Benson -Taxi Driver

Victor Efosa Uwaifo – Joromi

Cardinal Rex Jim Lawson-Love Adure

Celestine Ukwu – Ijenu

Isaac Kehinde Dairo – Mo Se Orire

Stephen Osita Osadebe – One Pound, No Balance

Fela Ransom Kuti – Oni Dodo

Chris Ajilo – Eko Gbagbere

Fatai Rolling Dollar – Won Keresi


Song of the 70s:

Ebenezer Obey -Board Members

Fela Anikulapo Kuti –  Shakara

Bongos Ikwue – Still Searching

Prince Nico Mbarga – Sweet Mother

Oliver De Coque – Identity

Raphael Amarabem- Eddie Quansah

Sonny Okosun –  Help

Cliff David – Beautiful Woman

Sunny Ade –  Syncro System

Dan Ian –  Fuel for love


Song of 80s:

Kris Okotie – I Need Someone

Majek Fashek  – Send Down the Rain

Felix Lebarty – Ngozi

Shina Peters – Ijo Shina

Ras Kimono – Rumba Style

Bright Chimezie – African Style

Sikiru Ayinde Barrister – Fuji Garbage

Christy Essien – Seun Rere

Victor Essiet – Rat Race

Sunny Okosun – Which Way Nigeria?


Song of the 90s:

Lagbaja -Coolu Temper

Baba Fryo – Denge Pose

Daddy Shokey- Diana

Eddy Brown -Sha komo?

Wasiu Ayinde – Baby me Show Colour

Femi Kuti – Wonder Wonder

Oritz Wiliki – Heart of Stone

Sunny Neji –  Mr Fantastic

Pasuma Wonder –  Orobokibo

Adewale Ayuba –  Mr Johnson


Contemporary Afro Song in the New Millennium:

Lagbaja – Konko Below

Timaya – Dem Mama

9ice –  Gongo Aso

Mad Melon & Mountain Black -_ Danfo Driver

Jeremiah Gyang – Na Ba Ka

Kehinde Akinbode – Olorioko

African China – Crisis

Duncan Mighty – Port Harcourt First Son


Contemporary Pop Song in the New Millennium:

T. Y. Bello – Greenland

Paul Play Dairo – Angel of my Life

Asa – Jailer

Dare Art Alade – Not the Girl

Tunde Akinsami/Shifi Emoefe – Olufunmi

2 Face Idibia/Black Face – African Queen

Peter, Paul & Jude Okoye – Bizzy Body

Banky W – Strong Thing

M.I. – Number One


Contemporary Highlife Song in the New Millennium:

Sunny Neji – Oruka

Bracket – Yori Yori

D’ Banj –  Mo Bo Lowo

J. Martins – Good & Bad

Mike Abdul & Patricia King – Igwe

Princess Annie Inyang – Akanamkwe

Flavour – Oyi NaTumu


Contemporary Afro Song in the New Era:

Wiz Kid – Pakurumo

Olamide – First of All

Omawumi – If you Ask Me

Tiwa Savage- Kele Kele

W4 – Gba Control

2face Idibia- Ihe Neme

Cobams Asuquo – Kedike

D’Banj –  Oliver Twist

Iyanya –  Ku Kere

Jaywon – This Year

Brymo – Ara N’be


Contemporary Pop Song in the New Era:

Davido – Dami Duro

Asa –  Be Mine

Ice Prince – Oleku

Vector –  Angeli

Bez –  Stupid Song

Dammykrane – My Dear

Solid Star –  omotena

Chuddy K –  Gaga Crazy

May D –  Ile Ijo

P-Square –  Chop My Money

Seyi Shay – Irawo


Contemporary Highlife Song in the New Era:

Bracket/Wizkid –  Girl

Wizboy –  Infinity

J Martins  – Fine Fine Love

P-Square – . Beautiful Onyinye

Flavour –  Baby Oku








Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s